The South African Institute of Refrigeration and Air Conditioning

On 17 July 1951, the South African Institute of Refrigeration was founded at a meeting of refrigeration engineers and food scientists held at the Bordeaux Hotel in Cape Town. The founding membership of 41 elected Dr Guido Dreosti as the Institute’s first President, an office that he held for the next 5 years and again in 1957 and in 1962. In 1962, the Institute widened its scope to include air conditioning and became the South African Institute of refrigeration and Air Conditioning (SAIRAC). In 1961 SAIRAC started establishing Centres in the other major cities of South Africa. Port Elizabeth was established in 1961, followed by Durban in 1963 and Johannesburg in 1964.

Click here to download the Membership Application form. For more details and benefits of being a SAIRAC member, please view membership brochure below:

Pin It